top of page

Post 12 Leadership
2023 - 2024

Post Commander
Brett Martin 

1st Vice Commander
David Walkup


2nd Vice Commander
Michael Taylor

Finance Officer
Mellodee Griffith

Jennifer Wheelr


Sergeant At Arms
Vernon Moore



Post Chaplain
Phil Gray

Post Namesake

Waggoner - Trimble

American Legion Post 12 was named after PFC Stephen Waggoner and Mechanic Karl Dell Trimble.  

Both of the soldiers were from Council Grove, Oklahoma. Both were assigned to the 357th Regiment.    

The 357th Regiment was the point of the spear in final of the Meuse-Argonne Campaign in late October, 1918. After a successful first day attack towards the German lines at “Le Grand Farm,” just on the outskirts of De Bantheville, Meuse, Lorraine, France, the 357th came under a vicious German Artillery counterattack.


  During the almost incessant German artillery barrage, PFC Stephen Waggoner and his machine gun team were lost.  Their bodies were never recovered.  Sadly, during this same artillery counterattack, Mechanic (E-4) Karl Dell Trimble of the 357th and also of Council Grove, OK, was mortally wounded.

  The Charter Members of Post 12, all veterans of World War One and the AEF chose to name the Post in Memory of their Fallen Comrades from Council Grove, Stephen D. Waggoner and Karl D. Trimble in 1941.

Building Manager   
Brian Wilson 
Rental Manager   
Brett Martin

Post Executive Committee
Brett Martin

David Walkup
Jennifer Wheeler
Mark Nadig
Mellodee Griffith 
Mike Taylor
Phil Gray
Jim Von Thaer
Jim Robbins
Vernon Moore
Brian Wilson


Founding Post Members

  Ray L. Maxwell    Rodney P Jones   

T.A. Gale    R.W. Moyes   R.H. Reed   

A.B.  McFarland   Carl B. Martin   

Ernest H. Lombard   W.B. Oliverson   

T.A. Roberts   Devereux Shields   

Floyd Marmon   Vincent L. Mikeska

C.E. Cavener   H.E. Boecking   

Harvey D. Power   J.C. Curtis   

R.H. Hutchinson   W.O. McPherson

Carl C. Phelps   Albert L. Mason   

W. K. Denison   Charles B. Pritshept   

Don H. Hardin   C. H. Carnahan

Cecil Page   Roy R. Parker

J. R. Cavett   C. Guy Freeland   

C.O. Remington   W. C. Jenkins

Claude C. Kuykendall   

Clarence Earl Marsh   Ralph B. Galbraith

Robert O. Larimer   Alec D. Ralston

Barney L. Fisher   Lark Cassel

Leonard J. Baker   Dee Oliver Chambers

Samuel R. McCasson   Frank R. Stockton

P.A. Sante


Notable Post Members

Leo C. Mayfield,  served in WWII in the United States Coastguard.  Mayfield was a lifelong member of American Legion Post 12.  After his military service, Mayfield went on to become a teacher in the Putnam City school district, then a principal, and finally the Superintendent.

 Mayfield Middle School in Oklahoma is named in his honor.

bottom of page